What did you say?

I got to thinking one day this week about all of the sayings we use that involve fruit. I know, pretty random, but sometimes hours in a tractor will promote random thoughts. You know the phrases I’m talking about, they show up in common conversation every day. Like “Things are just peachy”. And “Life is a bowl of cherries”. Or sometimes it’s just “the pits”. A dear person can be “the apple of your eye”, but “One bad apple spoils the whole bunch!” If you have a great job, it’s a “plum”, and if you are selective about what you get you are “cherry picking”.

 

2573230959_11d87c61ac_b

 

If you are on track you are “comparing apples to apples”. If not, you are “comparing apples to oranges”. Why would anybody ever do that?? Seems silly to me. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to “upset the apple cart”. Maybe it’s just “sour grapes”. Everyone knows that “An apple a day keeps the doctor away”. If that is true then I have real job security!

 

applescope

Maybe because fruit is my business I’m sensitive to these little gems. But I’ll bet the next time you hear one you will catch yourself and smile. And they are more common than you think. I’ll bet you can’t go a day without hearing one in conversation. Or even saying one yourself! And there are many more out there that I didn’t mention. Maybe we could start a list right here with your comments! We can even open it up for veggie sayings. I challenge you to add to the list. Should be a fun read!

Short blog this week–tractor time is over and there’s much to be done!

Have a fruitful week!    (Waaait a minute….)  ;-D

Tom Moelker

7 thoughts on “What did you say?

  1. Here are a few:
    top banana
    cool as a cucumber
    banana republic
    upset the apple cart
    cherry pick
    pear-shaped
    in a pickle
    life is a bowl of cherries
    big apple
    nutty as a fruitcake

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Caleb thought of a book title: The Grapes of Wrath
    I could only come up with vegetable references:
    “cool as a cucumber”
    “I’m in a pickle”
    “They’re like two peas in a pod”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

